Primary Color:
Primary Text:
Secondary Color:
Secondary Text:
Tertiary Color:
Tertiary Text:
Color Picker
Module Title
Module Title

Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetuer adipiscing elit. Ut non turpis a nisi pretium rutrum. Nullam congue, lectus a aliquam pretium, sem urna tempus justo, malesuada consequat nunc diam vel justo. In faucibus elit at purus. Suspendisse dapibus lorem. Curabitur luctus mauris.

Module Title
Module Title

Select a predefined style from the drop-down or choose your own colors via the handy mooRainbow based color-chooser. When you are satisfied with your selection, click the "Apply Colors" button below to store your selection in a cookie.

Apply Colors


This e-mail address is being protected from spam bots, you need JavaScript enabled to view it

   Push Button

  **To Listen**




























 Pro Shocks










Danny Smith wins Thunder in Carolina on FRIDAY at Carolina Speedway PDF Print E-mail

GASTONIA, N.C. – April 8, 2016 - Sprint car racing veteran Danny Smith from Chillicothe, Ohio made his career-first visit to the USCS Victory Lane at the end of the United Sprint Car Series presented by K&N Filters 30-lap main event on Friday night at Carolina Speedway. Smith celebrated the win as his first of his 42nd season in which he has won at least one time each season during a career that made him an inductee into the National Sprint Car Hall of Fame during the 2015 season

Smith bested a field of drivers from seven states and Canada in his first attempt at the four-tenths mile oval, Smith started in third position behind from  K&N Filters pole position starter Trey Starks from Puyallup, Washington. After fading to fourth place early in the contest, he rallied back to the runner-up spot by lap ten and chassed Starks who was pulling away.


A caution on lap twelve for Tim Perry's contact with an infield tire bunched the field behind Starks with Smith, Johnny Bridges from Cherryville, North Carolina, 11 time USCS National Champion, Terry Gray from Bartlett, Tennessee and Justin Barger from Montrace, New York comprising the top five.


The race resumed, while as the paycheck was starting to be filled out with Starks name on it. As the race continued caution free/ Then, on lap twenty-five, Trey Starks drove Jeff McCall's #23 to the infield with engine problems and Smith cruised the final five laps to victory lane in his own #4. Ohio Valley Veneer/Kears Speed Shop sponsored J&D Performance powered Maxim sprint car.  

In the USCS Victory Lane Smith said, “You know I was pretty good out there, but, he (Starks) was fast and I had just kind of settling for second. Then, I saw his black car going to the infield and then I saw the checkered flag and they told me to go to victory lane. It's all good."


New York state driver, Justin Barger chased Danny Smith across the finish line in the runner-up spot followed by local favorite Johnny Bridges from Cherryville, North Carolina in the K&N Filters Podium Award third place. Bridges won this same event in 2015. Terry Gray finished in fourth place and his team-mate and defending USCS national sprint car Champion, Morgan Turpen from Cordova, Tennessee rounded out the top five finishers.


Five-time 2015 USCS feature winner, Eric Riggins, Jr. from Charlotte, North Carolina led the next group of drivers home with a sixth-place effort followed by defending Southern Ontario Sprints Champion Mitch Brown from Brantford, Ontario, Canada in seventh. 2015 USCS Rookie of the Year, Nick Snyder from Marco Island, Florida posted an eighth place finish ahead of Fort Myers, Florida racer Tony Agin. One of the series top Rookie of the Year contenders, Brandon Taylor from Cumming, Georgia completed the top ten.

Nick Snyder kicked off Friday evening’s racing action by winning the Hoosier Tire Speed Dash. Justin Barger scored the win in the Engler Machine and Tools First Heat, and Terry Gray rolled to the victory in the Brown and Miller Racing Solutions (BMRS) Second Heat.

Trey Starks was the provisional pole-sitter after scoring the most passing points in heat race action, and after a zero was rolled on the K&N Inversion Die, he received the K&N Filters Pole Award.  Mitch Brown passed the most cars in the A-main (ten) to grab the Wilwood Disc Brakes Hard Charger Award.

The United Sprint Car Series presented by K&N continues their 2016 schedule on Saturday night with the USCS Thunder in Carolina Round #2 at Lancaster Super Speedway in Lancaster, South Carolina

For rules and updated schedule information about the United Sprint Car Series Outlaw Thunder Tour, please visit or call the series office at 770-865-6097


RESULTS: USCS Sprint Car Series; “Thunder in Carolina" 2016 Round One at Carolina Speedway; April 8, 2016.

Hoosier Tire Speed Dash:  Nick Snyder, Terry Gray, Morgan Turpen, Danny Sams III, Brandon McLain and Brian Thomas.

Engler Machine and Tool First Heat:  Justin Barger, Morgan Turpen, Jake McLain, Nick Snyder, Eric Riggins, Jr., Danny Sams III, Tim Perry and Mitch Brown.


Brown and Miller Racing Solutions Second Heat: Terry Gray, Johnny Bridges, Danny Smith, Tony Agin, Brandon Taylor, Brandon McLain, Johnny Petrozelle, Brian Thomas and Joe Larkin.


USCS Sprint Car Series presented by K&N A-main: 30-laps


1.     #4            Danny Smith, Chillicothe, OH
2.     #5            Justin Barger, Montrace, NY
3.     #23b        Johnny Bridges, Cherryville, NC
4.     #10          Terry Gray, Bartlett, TN
5.     #10M       Morgan Turpen, Cordova, TN
6.     #47          Eric Riggins Jr., Charlotte, NC
7.     #10B       Mitch Brown, Brantford, Ont., Canada
8.     #116        Nick Snyder, Marco Island, FL
9.     #38          Tony Agin, Ft. Myers, FL
10.   #07T        Brandon Taylor, Cumming, GA
11.   #67          Jake McLain, Indian Trail, NC
12.   #24D       Danny Sams III, Englewood, FL  
13    #21B       Brandon McLain, Indian Trail, NC
14.  #67T         Brian Thomas, Pendergrass, GA
15.   #23          Trey Starks, Puyallup, WA
16.   #36          Tim Perry, Mooresville, NC
17.   #33          Joe Larkin, Suwanee, GA
18.   #59III      Johnny Petrozelle, Denton, NC


USCS Sprint Car Series Race Awards:
Hoosier Tire Speed Dash:  #116 Nick Snyder
Engler Machine and Tool First Heat:  #5 Justin Barger
BMRS Second Heat: #10 Terry Gray 
K&N Filters Pole Award:  #23t Trey Starks
JE Pistons Top Guns Award: #23b Johnny Bridges  (3rd place) 

K&N Filters Podium (3rd place) Award:  #23b Johnny Bridges
Wilwood Disc Brakes Hard Charger Award:  #10B Mitch Brown 
Keizer Aluminum Wheels Top Five Award:  #10m Morgan Turpen
Saldana Racing Products Super Sixth Award:  #47 Eric Riggins, Jr.
Pyrotect Racing Cells Lucky Seven Award:  #10B Mitch Brown
DMI/Bulldog Rear Ends Top Ten Award:  #07T Brandon Taylor

The United Sprint Car Series presented by K&N Filters would like to gratefully thank its sponsoring partners for their involvement in the 2015 and 19th anniversary USCS Outlaw Thunder Tour: K&N Filters,, Engler Machine and Tool, Butlerbuilt, Wilwood Disc Brakes, Saldana Racing Products, Pyrotect Racing Cells, DMI/Bulldog Rear Ends, KSE Racing Products, Schoenfeld Headers, DSR Fuel Systems, Brown and Miller Racing Solutions.


Media contact: Pete Walton/USCS  cell# 770-865-6097 This e-mail address is being protected from spam bots, you need JavaScript enabled to view it et 

< Prev   Next >

USCS Modified Series









JE Pistons

KSE Racing Products, Inc.