USCS Sprints and Mini Sprints 2 FULL NITES at Bubba Raceway Park this weekend
USCS Outlaw Thunder Tour winged sprint cars headline USCS Florida State Sprint Car Championship Race at Bubba Raceway Park on Friday and Saturday, September 16th and 17th.

Atlanta, GA – September 11, 2016 - The Fayetteville, Georgia based United Sprint Car Series Outlaw Thunder Tour presented by K&N Filters winged sprint cars make their only 2016 visit to Bubba Raceway Park in Ocala, Florida on Friday and Saturday, August 16th and 17th. The event is entitled the USCS Florida State Sprint Car Championship Race (2016) . The series’ 120 mile per hour USCS winged Outlaw type sprint cars headline the two-day weekend of racing action at the semi-banked three-eighths mile D-shaped oval track. The racing card also includes the 100 mile per hour USCS 600 Sprint Car Series winged mini sprints and Florida Mini Sprint Action series on both nights in a head to head duel. Saturday’s racing card will add a third open wheel racing division when the Lucas Oil Southern States Midget Series competitors join the action.

The United Sprint Car Series portion of the event will give a driver who can sweep the weekend’s elements an opportunity to pick up over $3500 in cash prize winnings plus contingency awards. Friday night’s 20-lap preliminary main event winner will receive a $1200 paycheck upon arriving first in the USCS Victory Lane. Saturday night’s 30-lap Championship final winner will receive a $2000 paycheck.

The expects to draw winged sprint car drivers from at least six states including several of the series 2016 feature winners. Heading the entry list is 2015 USCS National Champion, Morgan Turpen from Cordova, Tennessee who is also the current National points leader and a five-time USCS main event winner in 2016. The 23-year-old Turpen is the only female sprint car driver expected to compete. 

Turpen is an eleven-time USCS feature winner and the top ranked female sprint car driver in the country. She currently leads her team-mate and 11-time USCS National Champion, Terry Gray who is in the runner-up spot in the National point standings by less than 10 points. Gray is also a 2016 winner and has 90 career USCS wins.

A number of other top drivers from the Southeastern United States are entered including last year’s prelim night winner Danny Martin, Jr. from Sarasota, Florida. Martin stormed into the lead in the 2015 Championship final only to have a deflating left rear tire come apart and send him to the sidelines. After winning three times in early season USCS competition, he will return to action this weekend with a sweep as his goal. 

Nineteen-year old Trey Starks from Puyallup, Washington won the 2015 USCS Florida State Championship Race and is expected to return this week to defend his title. Another challenge for all of these drivers will be to beat track favorite 14 year-old Tyler Clem from Tampa, Florida who has won in three different type race cars at the track this season (Sprint Car, Late Model and Modified). Clem, at age thirteen, finished third in this event’s finale last year after starting deep in the field.

Other USCS Outlaw Thunder Tour entries include: Eric Riggins, Jr. from Charlotte, North Carolina. Riggins raced his #47 sprint car into the USCS Victory Lane six times during the 2014 season and had three wins in 2015. The 2015 USCS Rookie of the Year, Nick Snyder from Marco Island, Florida and current 2016 USCS Rookie of the Year point’s leader 14year-old Danny Sams III from Englewood, Florida are both entered as well. 

The 2012 USCS Rookie of the Year, Jeff Willingham from Ripley, Mississippi and past Carolina Racesaver Sprint Series Champion, Jake McLain from Indian Trail, North Carolina are both entered as well.
Other veteran sprint car drivers expected to enter include Joe Larkin from Suwannee, Georgia and Brian Thomas from Pendergrass, Georgia. Five Florida USCS regulars are also entered including Terry and Tanner Witherspoon and Shawn Murray all from Jacksonville, Florida and Bob Auld from Largo Florida are entered. Former Carolina Racesaver Sprint series Champion Jake McLain from Indian Trail, North Carolina is on the list as well. 

The USCS 600 Sprint Car Series winged mini sprint series is also expected to draw entries from as far away as North Carolina and Mississippi. Those entries include Two-time Champion, Bobby Zaiontz from Columbus, Mississippi and 2015 series Champ and current points leader Remeno Loyal from Powder Springs, Georgia. Also entered is 16-year-old Brandon Taylor from Cumming, Georgia who is a recent USCS 600 Sprint series Rookie of the Year. 

Also entered in the USCS mini sprint division are Dirk Miller and David Hall from Tampa, Florida who are all 2016 feature race winners in the series. The 2015 USCS 600 Sprint Car Series Rookie of the Year, Mike Barton from Castilian Springs, Tennessee is expected as is 2016 current Rookie points leader Conner Morrell from Bradenton, Florida. 

Bubba Raceway Park is located at 9050 N.W. Gainesville Rd. in Ocala, Florida 34482 The track telephone: is 352.622.9400 For event info please visit or the speedway’s Facebook page at Bubba Raceway Park. The USCS series Official website is located at The USCS phone numbers are Office at 770-460-7223 or Mobile at 770-865-6097. 

Photo/Caption: #10m - USCS Outlaw Thunder Tour points leader, Morgan Turpen from Cordova, Tennessee leads a strong contingent of USCS Outlaw sprint car drivers into this weekend’s USCS Florida State Sprint Car Championship Race at Bubba Raceway Parkon Friday and Saturday nights. (USCS photo).