CHARLOTTE, NC – October 21, 2016 – Trey Starks of Puyallup, WA showed in Friday night preliminary action that he is the man to beat in Saturday night’s United Sprint Car Series Outlaw Thunder Tour Presented by K&N Filters main event in the One Short Track World Championship Race at The Dirt Track At Charlotte Motor Speedway.  Starks set fast time with a lap around the 3/8-mile clay oval in 14.748 seconds, and then won theEngler Machine & Tool first eight-lap Heat Race.  That earned Starks the pole position for the Pole Scramble Race that will be held on Saturday night prior to the main event to determine the first 12 starting spots for the Big Show.

Race fans in the Carolinas are very familiar with Starks and how he can be a force to be reckoned with.  On October 1 of the 20th Anniversary USCS Outlaw Thunder Tour Presented by K&N Filters, Starks failed to report to the scales for the post-race weigh-in after winning his Heat Race at Cherokee Speedway in nearby Gaffney, SC. 


That forced Starks to start 20th and last in the 30-lap main event.  Starks passed them all in just 18 laps and then pulled away unchallenged for the win.  Starks made a bold statement on lap one, as he went from 20th to 10th.  Starks just kept moving forward through the field, as he was fifth by lap six, and fourth by lap 11, and third on lap 13. 


The only thing that slowed him down was the caution flag that came out on lap 14.  He took the lead four laps after the restart, and in the Cherokee Speedway Winner’s Circle, Starks said that was a tune-up race for Charlotte.  Based on his Friday night performance at the One Short Track World Championship Race, it could be a long Saturday night for the competition.


Dylan Westbrook of Scotland, ON, Canada was the second quick qualifier, and will start on the outside of the front row for the Pole Scramble.  Lane Loreno of Charlotte, NC was third quick in Qualifying and starts on the inside of row two of the Pole Scramble.  Lance Moss of Cherryville, NC was fourth quick on Qualifying and starts fourth in the Pole Scramble.


Row three of the Pole Scramble will see the defending USCS National Champion Morgan Turpen of Cordova, TN on the inside, and Scott Hunter of Concord, NC to her right on the outside.  The USCS National point leader, 11-time USCS National Champion Terry Gray of Bartlett, TN is on the inside of row four and Glenn Styres of Oschwegen, ON, Canada is on the outside.


Teammates Gray and Turpen are battling for the USCS National Championship with just a few points separating them going into the One Short Track World Championship Race.  Row five of the Pole Scramble will see Brandon McLain of Indian Trail, NC on the inside with Nick Snyder of Marco Island, FL on the outside. 


Shawn Murray of Jacksonville, FL starts on the inside of the sixth and final row of the Pole Scramble, and Michael Miller of Ocean Springs, MS will be on the outside.  In other preliminary action, Snyder won the eight-lap Brown and Miller Racing Solutions second Heat Race, and Murray won the Schoenfeld Headers third eight-lap Heat Race.     


For rules and updated schedule information about the United Sprint Car Series Outlaw Thunder Tour, please visit or call the series office at 770-460-7223 or 770-865-6097. You can also like the United Sprint Car Series Facebook page at USCS Racing.






POS       CAR #   DRIVER                             HOMETOWN                                  TIME    
1.            23s         Trey Starks                       Puyallup, WA                                   14.748
2.            47x        Dylan Westbrook             Scotland, ON, Canada                    14.911
3.            00           Lane Loreno                      Charlotte, NC                                  15.008
4.            23           Lance Moss                       Cherryville, NC                               15.400
5.            47           Eric Riggins Jr.                Charlotte, NC                                  15.415
6.            10m       Morgan Turpen                Cordova, TN                                    15.415
7.            1x           Scott Hunter                      Concord, NC                                    15.561
8.            10           Terry Gray                        Bartlett, TN                                      15.582
9.            0             Glenn Styres                     Oschwegen, ON, Canada               15.642
10.          21m       Brandon McLain              Indian Trail, NC                              15.669
11.          116        Nick Snyder                       Marco Island, FL                             15.765
12.          22           Shawn Murray                 Jacksonville, FL                               15.822
13.          38           Tony Agin                          Fort Myers, FL                                15.867
14.          67           Jake McLain                     Indian Trail, NC                              15.945
15.          22r         Kevin Roberts                   Washington Court House, OH      15.953
16.          12           Nick Roberts                     Bloomingburg, OH                         15.953
17.          4m         Michael Miller                  Ocean Springs, MS                          16.002
18.          24           Danny Sams III                Englewood, FL                                 16.120
19.          59           Johnny Petrozelle             Lexington, SC                                  16.210
20.          27           Stan Zanchin                     Fort Erie, ON, Canada                   16.238
21.          43           Terry Witherspoon          Jacksonville, FL                               16.465
22.          33           Joe Larkin                         Suwanee, GA                                    17.248
23.          99           Tanner Witherspoon       Jacksonville, FL                               18.368
24.          51           Jay Dunham                      Harlem, GA                                      NT




Engler Machine & Tool Heat 1 - (8 Laps): 1. Starks; 2. B. McLain; 3. Moss; 4. Hunter; 5. N. Roberts; 6. Agin; 7. Petrozelle; 8. Larkin DNS.


Brown and Miller Racing Solutions Heat 2- (8 Laps):  1. Snyder; 2. Gray; 3. Westbrook; 4.Miller; 5. Riggins; 6. J. McLain; 7. Ta. Witherspoon; 8. Zanchin.


Schoenfeld Headers Heat 3 - (8 Laps): 1. Murray; 2. Lorenz; 3. Turpen; 4. Styres; 5. K. Roberts; 6. Sams; 7. Te. Witherspoon; 8. Dunham DNS.



23s Starks – 47x Westbrook
00 Loreno – 23m Moss
10m Turpen – 1x Hunter
10 Gray – 0 Styres
21m McLain – 116 Snyder

22 Murray – 4m Miller



The United Sprint Car Series presented by K&N Filters would like to gratefully thank its sponsoring partners for their involvement in the 2016 and 20th anniversary USCS Outlaw Thunder Tour: K&N Filters,, Hoosier Race Tires, Engler Machine and Tool, Butlerbuilt, Wilwood Disc Brakes, Saldana Racing Products, Pyrotect Racing Cells, DMI/Bulldog Rear Ends. Hero Graphics, KSE Racing Products, Schoenfeld Headers, DSR Fuel Systems, Brown and Miller Racing Solutions and DHR Suspensions. 


United Sprint Car Series News Release:  Contact – PETE WALTON – (770) 865-6097