2005 Season Standings
2005 Schedule
USCS Rules
Links / Sponsors
USCS Sponsorship
Parts For Sale
Contact Us

2007 USCS O'Reilly News

O'Reilly USCS Speedweek 2007 Green Valley Shootout goes to Jason Johnson

May 27, 2007 - Glencoe, AL - 2006 National Sprint Car Hall of Fame 360 sprint car Driver of the Year, Jason Johnson from Eunice, Louisiana won the 30-lap O'Reilly United Sprint Car Series www.uscsracing.com "Sunday Night Shootout" at Green Valley Speedway in Glencoe, Alabama. Johnson who led the Nation last season in winged 360 sprint car wins with 24 victories picked up his sixth on the 2007 season by chasing down early race leader Don Young from Bartlett, Tennessee on lap fourteen and making the winning move exiting turn four of the 3/8 mile clay oval for his third career O'Reilly USCS win. The victory came in the third round of the seven-race O'Reilly USCS Speed Week 2007.

When the main event started K&N Filters Pole Award recipient Don Young started on the front row next to 2006 O'Reilly USCS Rookie of the Year, Derek Hager from Marion, Arkansas. Young who finished in the runner-up spot in Butlerbuilt Heat Two earlier in the evening, raced into the lead in turn one of lap one. Young who appeared to have a great working race car started to stretch his lead over the field quickly with Butlerbuilt Heat Two winner and third place starter Lee Sowell from Nesbit, Mississippi's in pursuit of him. On lap-five Jason Johnson who earlier won the Engler Machine and Tool Heat One and started fourth got past Lee Sowell into the runner-up spot. Johnson would then have his work cut out for him to catch Don Young who had built a half straightaway lead by lap six.

Johnson began to close the gap in lapped traffic and by lap-fourteen got a good enough run on the teenager to make the winning move. Young held on and fought back trying to take the point back for several laps before Johnson formerly known as the "Cajun Sensation" could build a comfortable margin. On the final lap, Johnson held nearly a half straightway lead. Young raced home in the runner-up spot followed by hard chargin' Travis Rilat from Forney, Texas in the third position. Rilat started eighth. Current Speed Week 2007 points leader and defending O'Reilly USCS Champion Terry Gray from Bartlett, Tennessee finished in the fourth position and the evenings Lucas Oil Power Dash winner Danny Martin, Jr. from Sarasota, Florida rounded out the top five finishers

Past O'Reilly USCS Champion, Marshall Skinner from West Memphis, Arkansas headed the second five cars in sixth place followed by Lee Sowell in seventh. Derek Hagar who came into the night ranked second in Speed Week 2007 points, finished in the eighth position. Raymond Stull from Coldwater, Mississippi was ninth in the final running order and 2004 O'Reilly USCS Rookie of the Year finished in tenth place, still on the lead lap. All but one car that started the 30-lap caution-free speed contest finished the race.

Danny Martin, Jr. kicked of the competition by winning the evening's six-car, six-lap Lucas Oil Power Dash. As previously mentioned Jason Johnson won the Engler Machine and Tool First Heat Race and Lee Sowell won the Butlerbuilt Second Heat Race. Travis Rilat garnered the events Huggins Cams Hard Charger award for his charge from eighth place into third place. Don Young garnered the K&N Filters Pole Award and was also recognized as the Hoosier Tire Young Gun of the Race, which is awarded to the top-finishing driver under twenty-five years old.

The next O'Reilly USCS National points event and O'Reilly USCS Mid-South Thunder points event is the Speedweek 2007 Round Four at Clayhill Motorsports www.clayhillmotorsports.com in Atwood, TN. After two days off on Tuesday and Wednesday, the schedule picks back up at Clarksville Speedway in Clarksville, Tennessee on Thursday night, May 31st. The tour then visits Camden Speedway in Camden, Tennessee on Friday night June 1st before the grand finale in the "Columbus Clash" at Columbus Speedway in Columbus, MS on Saturday night June 2nd.
OFFICIAL RESULTS - ROUND THREE - O'REILLY USCS SPEEDWEEK 2007 AT GREEN VALLEY SPEEDWAY IN GLENCOE, AL. ON 5/27/07: PS ST CR# DRIVER HOMETOWN LAPS 1. 4 41 Jason Johnson Eunice, LA 30 2. 3 75 Don Young Bartlett, TN 30 3. 8 29 Travis Rilat Forney, Texas 30 4. 6 10 Terry Gray Bartlett, TN 30 5. 1 00 Danny Martin, Jr. Sarasota, FL 30 6. 7 26 Marshall Skinner W. Memphis, AR 30 7. 11 51 Lee Sowell Nesbit, MS 30 8. 2 9jr Derek Hagar - R Marion, AR 30 9. 9 21 Raymond Stull Coldwater, MS 30 10. 22 71 R.J. Johnson Tampa, FL 30 11. 11 1x Matt Linder Hoschton, GA 29 12. 16 4m Chris Hill Wedowee, AL 29 13. 14 88Z Shane Nelson Chattanooga, TN 29 14. 12 56R Ryan Myers Eaton, OH 29 15. 13 31 Michael Craddock Olive Branch,MS 29 16. 15 96 Nick DeFeo Marietta, GA 23 LUCAS OIL POWER DASH WINNER: Danny Martin, Jr. K & N FILTERS POLE AWARD: DonYoung HUGGINS CAMS HARD CHARGER: Travis Rilat (started 8th and passed 5 cars) HOOSIER TIRE YOUNG GUN OF THE RACE: Don Young ROBISON RACING PRODUCTS ROOKIE OF THE RACE: Nick DeFoe JE PISTONS TOP GUNS AWARD: Travis Rilat (3rd place) K&N FILTERS 3RD-PLACE AWARD: Travis Rilat BUTLERBUILT 4TH-PLACE AWARD: Terry Gray OUTLAW DISC BRAKES TOP FIVE AWARD: Danny Martin, Jr. SIMPSON SAFETY PRODUCTS 6TH-PLACE AWARD: Marshall Skinner FSR RACING PRODUCTS-7 TH-PLACE AWARD: Derek Hagar FSR TOP 10 AWARD : R.J. Johnson ENTRIES: 16 PROVISIONAL: None LEAD CHANGES: One LAP LEADERS: Don Young lead laps 1-14, Jason Johnson lead laps 15-30. CAUTIONS: None

LUCAS OIL POWER DASH - 6 Laps: 1. Danny Martin, Jr; 2. Marshall Skinner; 3. Terry Gray; 4. Don Young; 5. Raymond Stull; 6. Derek Hagar.


ENGLER TOOL AND MACHINE 1ST HEAT: 1.Jason Johnson; 2. Derek Hagar.; 3. Danny Martin, Jr. 4. Terry Gray; 5.Marshall Skinner; 6. Matt Linder; 7. Michael Craddock; 8. Nick DeFeo.

BUTLERBUILT 2ND HEAT: 1. Lee Sowell; 2. Don Young; 3. R.J. Johnson; 4. Travis Rilat; 5. Raymond Stull; 6. Ryan Myers; 7. Shane Nelson; 8. Chris Hill.

MEDIA CONTACT: Pete Walton 404-886-5913 petewalton@bellsouth.net

United Sprint Car Series
305 Industrial Way - Suite A, Fayetteville, GA 30214
Phone: 404-886-5913
Fax: 770-460-2053
Email: petewalton@bellsouth.net
About Drivers Awards Past Champions Photos Videos